Australian Marriage Equality (AME) has issued an urgent call to supporters of marriage equality to contact delegates to this week’s ALP National Conference.

AME spokesperson Alex Greenwich said far-right Christian groups are conducting a concerted delegate lobbying campaign that may see marriage equality knocked off the Conference agenda.

Unless LGBT people and our families and supporters raise their voices now, opponents of equality may succeed in sidelining marriage equality at this week’s conference, Greenwich said.

We urge everyone to email or call conference delegates asking them to support marriage equality.

To help, AME has compiled the following list of conference delegates with their contacts, as well as key points to make.

In today’s Australian newspaper, Australian Christian Lobby spokesman Jim Wallace said minority lifestyles should be respected but cannot be expected to dictate society norms as this 2per cent or less of the population seems intent on doing.

His comments come as the ACL and other anti-gay groups like Salt Shakers mobilise their members to lobby against any debate about same-sex marriage at the ALP National Conference.

Five points you should make in your phone call or email:

1. I am one of the 60% of Australians who support same-sex marriage. Its 64% support when you look at just Labor voters (Galaxy poll, June 2009)
2. Discrimination in marriage is inconsistent with the ALP’s stated opposition to discrimination and its principle of not pandering to prejudice (ALP National Platform, 2009)
3. Marriage in Australia is a civil institution, not a religious one (fmr Family Court Chief Justice, Alastair Nicholson)
4. Civil unions are not an adequate substitute for same-sex marriage
5. For all these reasons, the ALP needs to take action regarding discrimination in Australias marriage laws. At a minimum the National Conference should debate marriage equality.

Anti-gay groups are very successful at mobilising large numbers of people at the last minute to thwart open and public discussion about equality issues like marriage. Supporters of marriage equality should make a phone call or send an email before 5pm on Wednesday 29 July.

Making a call is very easy. Simply tell the person who answers that you are calling to register your support for marriage equality with <person’s name>. Try to mention the five reasons above. The person may ask you for your contact details, which you can choose to give or not to give as you wish.

Sending an email is also easy. Either copy the individual email address below, or copy the email all list to send a copy of your email to all the identified ALP conference delegates at once. Copy the five points into yoÃ¥ur email and include a personal message about why you think it’s important for the ALP to debate equal marriage at its National Conference.

Email All List – copy this list of emails and send one to them all.
thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au, Kevin.Rudd@aph.gov.au, Julia.Gillard.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Evans@aph.gov.au, Senator.Conroy@aph.gov.au, stanhope@act.gov.au, kim.fischer@act.gov.au, hargreaves@act.gov.au, unionsact@unionsact.org.au, thepremier@nsw.gov.au, office@lynch.minister.nsw.gov.au, R.McClelland.MP@aph.gov.au, gmclean@syd.asu.asn.au, heathcote@parliament.nsw.gov.au, Belinda.Neal.MP@aph.gov.au, Christine.Robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au, enquiries@treasurer.nsw.gov.au, mrowland@gtlaw.com.au, senator.stephens@aph.gov.au, A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Arbib@aph.gov.au, chris.bowen.mp@aph.gov.au, David.Bradbury.MP@aph.gov.au, Tony.Burke.MP@aph.gov.au, linda.burney@parliament.nsw.gov.au, chris@unionsnsw.org.au, Jason.Clare.MP@aph.gov.au, sharon.claydon@pacific.net.au, info@awunsw.org , paddy.crumlin@mua.org.au, office@dellabosca.minister.nsw.gov.au, greg.donnelly@parliament.nsw.gov.au, Justine.Elliot.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Faulkner@aph.gov.au, amanda.fazio@parliament.nsw.gov.au, J.Fitzgibbon.MP@aph.gov.au, senator.forshaw@aph.gov.au, wollongong@parliament.nsw.gov.au, office@keneally.minister.nsw.gov.au, Senator.Crossin@aph.gov.au, thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au, secretary@awu.org.au, charismullen@optusnet.com.au, ministerial@treasury.gov.au, premier@dpc.sa.gov.au, karen.atherton@cpsu.org.au, giles@parliament.sa.gov.au, Mark.Butler.MP@aph.gov.au, news@amwu.asn.au, Nick.Champion.MP@aph.gov.au, Kate.Ellis.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Farrell@aph.gov.au, david.bartlett@education.tas.gov.au, kevin.bracken@mua.org.au, danielle.green@parliament.vic.gov.au , Catherine.King.MP@aph.gov.au, JMacklin.MP@aph.gov.au, d.noonan@acfonline.org.au,

Contact Individually
Anna Bligh
thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au
07 3224 4500

Kevin Rudd Federal Labor Leader, Prime Minister
Kevin.Rudd@aph.gov.au
(02) 6277 7700

Julia Gillard Deputy Labor Leader, Deputy Prime Minister
Julia.Gillard.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 6277 7320

Chris Evans Government Leader in the Senate
Senator.Evans@aph.gov.au
1300 655 388 (WA only)

Stephen Conroy Deputy Government Leader in the Senate
Senator.Conroy@aph.gov.au
1300 131 546 (VIC only)

ACT Jon Stanhope Chief Minister
stanhope@act.gov.au

Kimberley Fischer
kim.fischer@act.gov.au

John Hargreaves
hargreaves@act.gov.au

Kim Sattler
unionsact@unionsact.org.au

Nathan Rees NSW Premier
thepremier@nsw.gov.au

Paul Lynch
office@lynch.minister.nsw.gov.au

Robert McClelland
R.McClelland.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 9585 9100

Greg McLean
gmclean@syd.asu.asn.au

Paul McLeay
heathcote@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Belinda Neal
Belinda.Neal.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 4322 1922

Christine Robertson
Christine.Robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Eric Roozendaal
enquiries@treasurer.nsw.gov.au

Michelle Rowland
mrowland@gtlaw.com.au

Ursula Stephens
senator.stephens@aph.gov.au
1300 301 987 (NSW only)

Anthony Albanese
A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 9564 3588

Mark Arbib
Senator.Arbib@aph.gov.au
(02) 9251 3766

Chris Bowen
chris.bowen.mp@aph.gov.au
(02) 9726 4100

David Bradbury
David.Bradbury.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 4732 1801

Tony Burke
Tony.Burke.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 9553 3800

Linda Burney
linda.burney@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Chris Christodoulou
chris@unionsnsw.org.au

Jason Clare
Jason.Clare.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 9790 2466

Sharon Claydon
sharon.claydon@pacific.net.au

Russ Collison
info@awunsw.org

Paddy Crumlin
paddy.crumlin@mua.org.au

John Della Bosca
office@dellabosca.minister.nsw.gov.au

Greg Donnelly
greg.donnelly@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Justine Elliot
Justine.Elliot.MP@aph.gov.au
(07) 5523 4371

John Faulkner
Senator.Faulkner@aph.gov.au
1300 301 752 (NSW only)

Amanda Fazio
amanda.fazio@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Joel Fitzgibbon
J.Fitzgibbon.MP@aph.gov.au
(02) 4991 1022

Michael Forshaw
senator.forshaw@aph.gov.au
1300 301 781 (NSW only)

Noreen Hay
wollongong@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Kristina Keneally
office@keneally.minister.nsw.gov.au

Trish Crossin
Senator.Crossin@aph.gov.au
1300 301 713 (NT only)

Anna Bligh QLD Premier
thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au

Bill Ludwig
secretary@awu.org.au

Charis Mullen
charismullen@optusnet.com.au

Wayne Swan
ministerial@treasury.gov.au

Mike Rann Premier
premier@dpc.sa.gov.au

Karen Atherton
karen.atherton@cpsu.org.au

Lyn Breuer
giles@parliament.sa.gov.au

Mark Butler
Mark.Butler.MP@aph.gov.au

John Camillo
news@amwu.asn.au

Nick Champion
Nick.Champion.MP@aph.gov.au

Kate Ellis
Kate.Ellis.MP@aph.gov.au

Don Farrell
Senator.Farrell@aph.gov.au

David Bartlett Tas Premier
david.bartlett@education.tas.gov.au
03 6233 3464

Kevin Bracken
kevin.bracken@mua.org.au

Danielle Green
danielle.green@parliament.vic.gov.au
03 9432 9782

Catherine King
Catherine.King.MP@aph.gov.au
(03) 5338 8123

Jenny Macklin
JMacklin.MP@aph.gov.au
(03) 9459 1411

Dave Noonan
d.noonan@acfonline.org.au

© Star Observer 2018 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans* and intersex (LGBTI) news in Australia, be sure to visit starobserver.com.au daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.