Australian Marriage Equality (AME) has issued an urgent call to supporters of marriage equality to contact delegates to this week’s ALP National Conference.AME spokesperson Alex Greenwich said far-right Christian groups are conducting a concerted delegate lobbying campaign that may see marriage equality knocked off the Conference agenda.-œUnless LGBT people and our families and supporters raise their voices now, opponents of equality may succeed in sidelining marriage equality at this week’s conference, Greenwich said.-œWe urge everyone to email or call conference delegates asking them to support marriage equality.-œTo help, AME has compiled the following list of conference delegates with their contacts, as well as key points to make.In today’s Australian newspaper, Australian Christian Lobby spokesman Jim Wallace said -œminority lifestyles should be respected but cannot be expected to dictate society norms as this 2per cent or less of the population seems intent on doing.His comments come as the ACL and other anti-gay groups like Salt Shakers mobilise their members to lobby against any debate about same-sex marriage at the ALP National Conference.Five points you should make in your phone call or email:   1. I am one of the 60% of Australians who support same-sex marriage. Its 64% support when you look at just Labor voters (Galaxy poll, June 2009)   2. Discrimination in marriage is inconsistent with the ALP’s stated opposition to discrimination and its principle of not pandering to prejudice (ALP National Platform, 2009)   3. Marriage in Australia is a civil institution, not a religious one (fmr Family Court Chief Justice, Alastair Nicholson)     4. Civil unions are not an adequate substitute for same-sex marriage   5. For all these reasons, the ALP needs to take action regarding discrimination in Australias marriage laws. At a minimum the National Conference should debate marriage equality.Anti-gay groups are very successful at mobilising large numbers of people at the last minute to thwart open and public discussion about equality issues like marriage. Supporters of marriage equality should make a phone call or send an email before 5pm on Wednesday 29 July.Making a call is very easy. Simply tell the person who answers that you are calling to register your support for marriage equality with <person’s name>. Try to mention the five reasons above. The person may ask you for your contact details, which you can choose to give or not to give as you wish.Sending an email is also easy. Either copy the individual email address below, or copy the -œemail all list to send a copy of your email to all the identified ALP conference delegates at once. Copy the five points into yoÃ¥ur email and include a personal message about why you think it’s important for the ALP to debate equal marriage at its National Conference. Email All List – copy this list of emails and send one to them all.thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au, Kevin.Rudd@aph.gov.au, Julia.Gillard.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Evans@aph.gov.au, Senator.Conroy@aph.gov.au, stanhope@act.gov.au, kim.fischer@act.gov.au, hargreaves@act.gov.au, unionsact@unionsact.org.au, thepremier@nsw.gov.au, office@lynch.minister.nsw.gov.au, R.McClelland.MP@aph.gov.au, gmclean@syd.asu.asn.au, heathcote@parliament.nsw.gov.au, Belinda.Neal.MP@aph.gov.au, Christine.Robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au, enquiries@treasurer.nsw.gov.au, mrowland@gtlaw.com.au, senator.stephens@aph.gov.au, A.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Arbib@aph.gov.au, chris.bowen.mp@aph.gov.au, David.Bradbury.MP@aph.gov.au, Tony.Burke.MP@aph.gov.au, linda.burney@parliament.nsw.gov.au, chris@unionsnsw.org.au, Jason.Clare.MP@aph.gov.au, sharon.claydon@pacific.net.au, info@awunsw.org , paddy.crumlin@mua.org.au, office@dellabosca.minister.nsw.gov.au, greg.donnelly@parliament.nsw.gov.au, Justine.Elliot.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Faulkner@aph.gov.au, amanda.fazio@parliament.nsw.gov.au, J.Fitzgibbon.MP@aph.gov.au, senator.forshaw@aph.gov.au, wollongong@parliament.nsw.gov.au, office@keneally.minister.nsw.gov.au, Senator.Crossin@aph.gov.au, thepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au, secretary@awu.org.au, charismullen@optusnet.com.au, ministerial@treasury.gov.au, premier@dpc.sa.gov.au, karen.atherton@cpsu.org.au, giles@parliament.sa.gov.au, Mark.Butler.MP@aph.gov.au, news@amwu.asn.au, Nick.Champion.MP@aph.gov.au, Kate.Ellis.MP@aph.gov.au, Senator.Farrell@aph.gov.au, david.bartlett@education.tas.gov.au, kevin.bracken@mua.org.au, danielle.green@parliament.vic.gov.au , Catherine.King.MP@aph.gov.au, JMacklin.MP@aph.gov.au, d.noonan@acfonline.org.au, Contact IndividuallyAnna Blighthepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au07 3224 4500Kevin Rudd Federal Labor Leader, Prime MinisterKevin.Rudd@aph.gov.au(02) 6277 7700Julia Gillard Deputy Labor Leader, Deputy Prime MinisterJulia.Gillard.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 6277 7320Chris Evans Government Leader in the SenateSenator.Evans@aph.gov.au1300 655 388 (WA only)Stephen Conroy Deputy Government Leader in the SenateSenator.Conroy@aph.gov.au1300 131 546 (VIC only)ACT Jon Stanhope Chief Ministerstanhope@act.gov.auKimberley Fischerkim.fischer@act.gov.auJohn Hargreaveshargreaves@act.gov.au    Kim Sattlerunionsact@unionsact.org.au    Nathan Rees NSW Premierthepremier@nsw.gov.au    Paul Lynchoffice@lynch.minister.nsw.gov.au    Robert McClellandR.McClelland.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 9585 9100Greg McLeangmclean@syd.asu.asn.au    Paul McLeayheathcote@parliament.nsw.gov.au    Belinda NealBelinda.Neal.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 4322 1922Christine RobertsonChristine.Robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au    Eric Roozendaalenquiries@treasurer.nsw.gov.au    Michelle Rowlandmrowland@gtlaw.com.auUrsula Stephenssenator.stephens@aph.gov.au1300 301 987 (NSW only)Anthony AlbaneseA.Albanese.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 9564 3588Mark ArbibSenator.Arbib@aph.gov.au(02) 9251 3766Chris Bowenchris.bowen.mp@aph.gov.au(02) 9726 4100David BradburyDavid.Bradbury.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 4732 1801Tony BurkeTony.Burke.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 9553 3800Linda Burneylinda.burney@parliament.nsw.gov.auChris Christodoulouchris@unionsnsw.org.au    Jason ClareJason.Clare.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 9790 2466Sharon Claydonsharon.claydon@pacific.net.auRuss Collisoninfo@awunsw.org     Paddy Crumlinpaddy.crumlin@mua.org.au    John Della Boscaoffice@dellabosca.minister.nsw.gov.auGreg Donnellygreg.donnelly@parliament.nsw.gov.au    Justine ElliotJustine.Elliot.MP@aph.gov.au(07) 5523 4371John FaulknerSenator.Faulkner@aph.gov.au1300 301 752 (NSW only)Amanda Fazioamanda.fazio@parliament.nsw.gov.au    Joel FitzgibbonJ.Fitzgibbon.MP@aph.gov.au(02) 4991 1022Michael Forshawsenator.forshaw@aph.gov.au1300 301 781 (NSW only)Noreen Haywollongong@parliament.nsw.gov.auKristina Keneallyoffice@keneally.minister.nsw.gov.au    Trish CrossinSenator.Crossin@aph.gov.au1300 301 713 (NT only)Anna Bligh QLD Premierthepremier@premiers.qld.gov.au    Bill Ludwigsecretary@awu.org.au    Charis Mullencharismullen@optusnet.com.auWayne Swanministerial@treasury.gov.au    Mike Rann Premierpremier@dpc.sa.gov.au    Karen Athertonkaren.atherton@cpsu.org.au    Lyn Breuergiles@parliament.sa.gov.au    Mark ButlerMark.Butler.MP@aph.gov.au    John Camillonews@amwu.asn.au    Nick ChampionNick.Champion.MP@aph.gov.au    Kate EllisKate.Ellis.MP@aph.gov.au    Don FarrellSenator.Farrell@aph.gov.au    David Bartlett Tas Premierdavid.bartlett@education.tas.gov.au03 6233 3464Kevin Brackenkevin.bracken@mua.org.au    Danielle Greendanielle.green@parliament.vic.gov.au 03 9432 9782Catherine KingCatherine.King.MP@aph.gov.au(03) 5338 8123Jenny MacklinJMacklin.MP@aph.gov.au(03) 9459 1411Dave Noonand.noonan@acfonline.org.au

© Star Observer 2017 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans* and intersex (LGBTI) news in Australia, be sure to visit starobserver.com.au daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.