There were no clear big winners from the 2011 MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs) in Los Angeles, with a number of artists picking up gongs across the field.

It was thought to be a showdown between the music videos of artists Adele and Lady Gaga, but neither star ended up walking away empty handed.

Gaga picked up best Female Video and Video with a Message awards for Born This Way, while Adele snagged Cinematography, Editing, Art Direction and Direction gongs for Rolling in the Deep.

Britney Spears and Katy Perry were also among the winners for their videos Till the World Ends and Firework.

Lady Gaga kicked off proceedings with an amazing performance and monologue as her male alter-ego, Joe Calderone.

The full list of winners are:

Pop Music Video: Britney Spears, “Till the World Ends.”

Rock video: Foo Fighters, “Walk.”

Hip-hop video: Nicki Minaj, “Super Bass.”

Collaboration: Katy Perry featuring Kanye West, “E.T.”

Male video: Justin Bieber, “U Smile.”

Female video: Lady Gaga, “Born This Way.”

Video with a message: Lady Gaga, “Born This Way.”

Choreography: Beyonce, “Run the World (Girls).”

Editing: Adele, “Rolling in the Deep.”

Special effects: Katy Perry featuring Kanye West, “E.T.”

Cinematography: Adele, “Rolling in the Deep.”

Art direction: Adele, “Rolling in the Deep.”

Direction: Adele, “Rolling in the Deep.”

Best new artist: Tyler, The Creator, “Yonkers.”

Video of the year: Katy Perry, “Firework.”

© Star Observer 2020 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.