Voting has opened in the electorate of Higgins for voters who will be away from home on the day of the by-election.

Saturday, December 5 is the day the electorate — which includes South Yarra, Windsor and Prahran — goes to the polls to elect a new federal Member of Parliament following the resignation of long-serving MP and former Liberal treasurer Peter Costello.

Australian Electoral Commission divisional returning officer for Higgins, Mark Strong said people who will be outside Higgins on December 5 should vote at an early voting centre or by post. Voting outside the electorate on by-election day will not be allowed.
Early voting centres are open until December 4.

Voters can cast a postal vote by obtaining application forms from the AEC website, AEC offices or Australia Post outlets in Higgins.
It is compulsory for everyone enrolled in the electorate to vote in the by-election.

The nine candidates are Stephen Murphy (Independent), Fiona Patten (Australian Sex Party), Kelly O’Dwyer (Liberal Party), Dr Clive Hamilton (Greens), David Collyer (Australian Democrats), Dr Joseph Toscano (Independent), Steve Raskovy (One Nation), Peter Brohier (Independent) and John Mulholland (Democratic Labor Party). The Australian Labor Party is not fielding a candidate.

info: To find the nearest early voting centre, visit the AEC website at or call 13 23 26.

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.