THE Melbourne and Sydney LGBTI communities are entering their respective award season in celebration of the excellence of those within our community.

The GLOBE Community Awards will be held on October 16 at the Myer Mural Hall and will be hosted by comedian Hannah Gadsby.

[showads ad=MREC]Meanwhile, Sydney’s Honour Awards will be held a few weeks earlier on September 30 at the Ivy Ballroom, which will be hosted by MCs Patrick Abboud and Rocardo Goncalves from SBS, along with special guest Channel 7 Morning Show host Kylie Gillies who will present the Media Award.

Among the nominees is Star Observer alumnus and former Victorian journalist Benjamin Riley, who has shortlisted as one of four finalists for GLOBE’s Media Person of the Year award.

2015 GLOBE Community Awards Finalists

Healthy Community
Living Positive Victoria – ENUF Campaign
Switchboard Victoria
Team Melbourne – Team Melbourne Sports Day

Protecting Our Community
Jeremy Wiggins
Joy 949 – Live from World AIDS Day
Kildonan Uniting Care – The Diversity Project

Connecting Our Community
Joy 949
Melbourne Queer Film Festival
Melbourne Gay and Lesbian Chorus

ANZ Excellence in Business Award
Andrew Parker
The Laird Hotel – Brett Lasham & Mark Carney
SensWide Employment – WorkingOUT

Media Person of the Year
Benjamin Riley
Dean Arcuri
James Findlay
Rachel Cook

Artist of the Year 
Mama Alto
Lisa Daniel – MQFF
Peter Waples-Crowe

Sports Person of the Year 
Neal Giles – Melbourne Front Runners
Jason Ball – Yarra Glen Football Club
Iain Abbott – Melbourne Charges
Noel de Leon – Melbourne Spikers

Straight Ally of the Year 
Edwina Wright
Jan Farrell
Ailsa Ramsden

Volunteer of the Year
Greig Friday
Jason Ngam, Melbourne Queer Film Festival
Alan Drummond, Midsumma
Natalia Dewayani

GLOBE GLBTI Person of the Year
Jason Ball
Lucy Thomas
Sally Goldner

2015 Honour Awards Finalists

Business Award
Dowson Turco Lawyers
Nadia Neuman
Pink Media Group
357 Sydney Gay Sauna

Media Award
Rick Feneley (SMH)
Lane Sainty (Buzzfeed)
Lisa Pellegrino (ABC Radio Darwin /Alice Springs)

Arts and Entertainment Award
Beccy Cole
Holding The Man Cast & Crew
Jan Blanch
Sarah Penicka-Smith

Visual Arts Award
The finalist for this award has been selected and will be announced on the night.

Health and Wellbeing Award
Anthony Venn Brown
Lance Feeney
Mollie Smith
A/Prof Roger Garsia

Community Organisation Award
The Pollys Club
Twenty10 (inc. GLCS NSW
Dykes On Bikes
HIV/AIDS Legal Centre

Young Achiever Award
Matthew Capell
Sally Rugg
Alex Taylor
Richard Ezomoh
Erol Dalkic

Community Hero Award
Amanda Honey
Silke Bader
Steph Sands
Sue Thompson

[showads ad=FOOT]

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.