Winners of the annual Sydney Gay & Lesbian Mardi Gras awards have been announced, with Richard Wherrett posthumously made a member of the 2002 Hall Of Fame. Party award winners include Mardi Gras legend Ron Muncaster for best male costume and the Vulva Owners & Divers Association for best group costume. Winners of the special festival awards include Bette Bourne for Resident Alien, while parade participant The Mountie won best individual entry. DNA magazine and Triple J won media awards.

Sydney Star Observer won a Judges’ Choice award for its Tribute To Richard Wherrett float.

The SSO float comprising around 60 people was organised by SSO general manager Peter Dragicevich, who was thrilled by the accolade. It was great to be able to honour a community legend in this way, especially as Richard Wherrett had such a love for Mardi Gras, he said.

We couldn’t have done it without the support of the Sydney Theatre Company, our sponsor Volvo and many of Richard’s friends, Dragicevich said. Richard died only last December and for many participants it was an emotional experience.

In addition to Richard Wherrett’s entry to the Hall Of Fame, Dr Richard Liddy, Katrina Marton, Jade Kemety-Snow and Philip Diment will also be inducted. The Mardi Gras awards night will be held on Tuesday 28 May at ARQ nightclub.

It’s been a fantastic season and obviously we’re looking forward to a fantastic awards night, said Mardi Gras president Julie Regan. We’d like to thank everyone for their wonderful contribution to the Mardi Gras festival season.

Doors open at 6pm and presentations will begin at 7pm. This year’s awards night will feature footage from the 2002 party and parade, and awards will be presented to participants in the parade, party costume pageant and festival, as well as acknowledging outstanding contributions from volunteers and community members.

Sydney Gay+Lesbian Mardi Gras 2002 Awards Recipients

Hall of Fame 2002:

Dr Richard Liddy, Richard Wherrett, Katrina Marton, Jade Kemety-Snow, Philip Diment.

Party Awards

Best Male Costume: Ron Muncaster

Best Female Costume: Joyce Maynge (Shane Pascoe)

Best Group Costume: Vulva Owners & Divers Association -” with the Iced Vulva Dancers-” Linda Chalmers

Jacqui Award : Rene Rivas

Parade Awards

Best Individual Entrant: The Mountie

Best Small Group Entrant: 24 Years of Mardi Gras History -” Rene Rivas

Best Commercial Entrant: Naked Spin -” MAC Cosmetics -” Susie Rosin

Best Gay and Lesbian Community Entrant: Blacktown CCSN Lemon Flesh

Best Out of Town Entrant: Sea of Feet

Best Choreographed Entrant: Temple of Love and Harmony -” Asian Project – ACON

Judges Choice Award: SSO – Tribute to Richard Wherrett

Festival Awards

Outstanding Community Event: The NSW Anti-Discrimination Board and the Crime Prevention Division of the Attorney General’s Department for Skool’s Out.

Outstanding Sports Event: Sydney Rams Tenpin Bowling for the MG Bowling Tournament

The Stephen Cummins Award: Darren Burgess Tales of the Powder Room.

Special Festival Award: Bette Bourne for Resident Alien.

Special Festival Award: The creative team and crew and verbal boxers of The Boxing Club.

Special Festival Award: Sally Clarke, Brenda Factor and the Powerhouse Museum for Figs in Space.

Special Festival Award: The writers, creative team and crew of She Loves Me She Loves Me Not.


Outstanding Commitment Awards

Outstanding Commitment to Administration: Barry Smith

Outstanding Commitment to Fair Day: Kate Webb

Outstanding Commitment to Parade: Monica Considine

Outstanding Commitment to Party: Juan Carlos Camacho

Outstanding Commitment to Workshop: Paul Le Rambouillot

Outstanding Commitment to Festival: Neil Goodchild

Outstanding Commitment to SGLMG: Glenn Horder

Outstanding Commitment to G & L Community: First Fleet Productions

Outstanding Commitment in addressing HIV/AIDS Issues: Barry Fitzgerald

Media Awards

Gay & Lesbian Award: DNA Magazine

Mainstream Award: Triple J

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.