Board elections will be held at this year’s New Mardi Gras annual general meeting.

Twelve board nominations were received this year, allowing for an election to take place for the eight available directors positions.

All of the current board members will be running for re-election, except for David Imrie, who will step down from his position as chair.

Kirk Muddle, Joshua Keech, Tony Knight, Nicholas Parker, Rob Partos and Steph Sands will all seek re-election against a number of new candidates who include Joshua Crouthamel, Lynne O’Brien, Mohamed Duar, Adam Atkin, Adam Bratt and Michael Douglas.

Company secretary Peter Munro said NMG members can shortly expect to receive a statement from all the candidates.

It is important that any member who wishes to have a say in the composition of the new board votes – either using the proxy form in the postal ballot papers to be sent out shortly or by attending the AGM, he said.

The postal ballot papers will include a statement from candidates who provided one, ins support of their nomination.

There will be an opportunity at the AGM for members to ask questions or speak from the floor. I am not sure at this stage whether candidates will be allowed time to speak in support of their nomination.

The AGM will be held on Wednesday August 19 at the NIDA Playhouse from 6pm.

Anyone who is not yet a member of the organisation must join by August 8 to take part in the vote.

info: For more information or to join New Mardi Gras go to

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.