Mardi Gras cheered its army of volunteers with a thankyou event at the Alexandria Hotel on Sunday, where the first round of Volunteer Award winners for 2012 was announced. Then at last night’s Mardi Gras Awards at the Seymour Centre, awards were presented for exceptional achievements in Volunteer, Parade and Fair Day categories.
Below is the full list of winners.


Silver Awards
Best Commercial Stall: Urban Society
Best Community Stall: Wear it Purple
Best Youth Stall: Y Foundations

Gold Award
Best Fair Day 2012 Stall: This is Oz


Brian Thompson
Gary Carsley
Francesca Zambello

Silver Awards
Best Choreography: “Fight for Love” – Sydney Stingers Water Polo
Best Costume (presented by “Kandi Circus” – Hot Kandi
Best Float Design (presented by “Love All – Margaret Court Loses in Straight Sets” – Ethel Yarwood Enterprises
Best Individual Entry (presented by LOTL Magazine): Teresa Kompara

Showstopper Gold Awards
“Lights of Our Lives”- Deaf Gay and Lesbian Association
Lifesavers with Pride
“Report All Violence to the Police” – NSW Police Force
“30 Years Young! Your Story is Our Story” – Twenty10


Volunteer Achievement Awards

Fair Day: Nick Hearne
Festival: Catherine Daulby
Fair Day: Nick Hearne
Festival: Catherine Daulby
Harbour Party: Eamonn Lorraine
Parade: James Dowson, Rob Harper, Creative Services Team (Brenden Spencer, Meg Ebelt, Tom Gait-Smith, Tom Tansey, Steven Muckersie)
Party: Mark Cassone
Medical: Robert Whitworth
Fundraising: Wayne Martin
Volunteers: Che Bishop
Fundraiser of the Year: James Harrison

Silver Awards
Excellence in Team Work: Team Camp
Excellence in Innovation: John Riveral
Excellence in Service: Laura Jamieson
Spirit of Mardi Gras: Frank Iannilli

Gold Award
Volunteer of the Year: Meg Ebelt

Check out the Award photo gallery here.

© Star Observer 2021 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.