New Mardi Gras members voted for experience over fresh blood last night, with all eight new board members having previously served on the organisation’s executive.

Joshua Keech, Tony Knight, Kirk Muddle, Nicholas Parker, Rob Partos and Steph Sands were all re-elected for another term at the five hour meeting. They will be joined by Lynne O’Brien, who previously served on the 2002 board, and former treasurer Michael Douglas, whose platform included moving the parade to William St.

As reported in Sydney Star Observer two weeks ago, outgoing chair David Imrie did not attend the meeting.

The new board will meet in the next week to decide upon how it will be structured.
Sydney Star Observer understands there is a move among some of the new board members to no longer have a single chair, but instead spread those duties among the entire board.

Under the plan a single board member would each be responsible for Parade, Party, Festival, Harbour Party, Sleaze Ball and Fair Day, while one would continue to be responsible for the company’s finances, and another for the board’s relationship with the organisation’s staff. There is no requirement under the NMG constitution for the organisation to have a single chair.

There has also been some discussion around the possibility of re-introducing the co-chair model of several years ago.

A motion to safeguard membership consultation procedures was defeated in a formal debate after more than an hour of questions and debate from the floor.
A motion to investigate a new way to protect the organisation’s intellectual property rights was supported.

Full report in next week’s Sydney Star Observer

Candidate profiles:

© Star Observer 2021 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.