The ALSO Awards line-up is falling into place, but organisers have warned the community to not be complacent about voting for nominees.

SKP Events managing director Simon Patterson said it’s important the public takes the time to vote for who they think has made the most significant contribution to the GLBTI community.

“In some categories there have been as few as five votes separating fist and second at times,” he told Southern Star.

Voting closes at 5pm, Thursday June 24.

On the entertainment bill, comedienne Hannah Gadsby and cabaret performer Benn Bennett will lead the June 28 St Kilda National Theatre event.

They will be joined on stage by magician Cath Jamieson, drag performers Tabitha Turlington and Rocco D’Amore, the Melbourne Gay and Lesbian Youth Chorus and Dolly Diamond and Luke Gallagher.

Circus Tricktease and Frankly James have also been confirmed to perform on the night, alongside Constantina Bush and The Bushettes and Sensation.

Kaye Sera and Mr Leather Australia/New Zealand 2009 Josh Burrows will present awards along with Olympic swimming champion Daniel Kowalski.

This year’s awards are divided into a public and panel voted categories with more than 3500 votes already cast in the public voted categories.

Tickets are now on sale, so make sure you don’t miss out.

info: To vote or buy tickets visit,

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.