Last weekend, more than 120 players flocked to Tennis Sydney’s Mardi Gras Championships to celebrate its 21st year.
Held over three days at the Illawarra Tennis Centre, the tournament held 145 games with several interstate and international guests.

Tennis Sydney president Brendan Moore declared the day a success, adding it was an exciting milestone for the club.
“For over two decades this Tennis Sydney event has been providing GLBT tennis players plus family and friends, a competitive, social and fun tournament,” he said.

“The championships have become Tennis Sydney’s largest and most prestigious tennis event.”

The final of the open grade was between Sydneysiders Ben Tari and Mikey DeCourtney Feeney (pictured).

“Feeney was a wild card entry, where he met the third seed in the first round, winning in straight sets, which was the major shock on the first night,”  Moore said.

Feeney beat the second seed in the semi-final and then went on to win the final in three sets.

Tennis Sydney is an incorporated, non-profit organisation that aims to promote and facilitate gay and lesbian tennis in Sydney.

In recent years, the group joined the Gay and Lesbian Tennis Alliance (GLTA), which has exposed the group and its championships to an international level.

“The GLTA is the international organisation that manages and sanctions the gay tennis circuit around the world. There are 40 gay and lesbian tennis clubs around the world that comprise the GLTA,” Moore said.

“With over 39 annual GLTA-sanctioned tournaments internationally, the GLTA is the fastest growing gay sports organisation. This year’s Mardi Gras Championships was a GLTA-sanctioned event.”

Tennis Sydney’s Mardi Gras Championship’s Results

Open Singles Winner: Mikey DeCourtney Feeney
Open Singles Runner-up: Ben Tari

Open Doubles Winner: Greg Westwood & Craig Hunt
Open Doubles Runners-up: Geoffrey Daus & Hoshio Kaneko

A Grade Singles Winner: Troy  Warner
A Grade Singles Runner-up: Byron Watson
A Grade Doubles Winner: Troy Warner & Shane Goodwin
A Grade Doubles Runners-up: Tyrone Andres & Mark Andres

B Grade Singles Winner: Brian Heavin
B Grade Singles Runner-up: Steven Philpot
B Grade Doubles Winner: Andrew Klusman & Darren Marsh
B Grade Doubles Runners-up: Ed Wong & Bill Spence

C Grade Singles Winner: Rob Laus
C Grade Singles Runner-up: Hendry Lukman
C Grade Doubles Winner: Rob Laus & Phil Moore
C Grade Doubles Runners-up : Ray Lance & Sam Lie

D Grade Singles Winner: Steven Thorne
D Grade Singles Runner-up: Kevin Thompson
D Grade Doubles Winner: Steven Thorne & Kate Still
D Grade Doubles Runners-up: Kevin Thompson & Johhny Esber

Women’s Doubles Winner: Michelle Schilg & Kerri Matterson
Women’s Doubles Runners-up: Leanne Spencer & Elena Sarno
Mixed Doubles Winner: Stephen Clarke & Liz Yeo
Mixed Doubles Runners-up: Darren Marsh & Elena Sarno

Masters Doubles Winner: Rob Ferguson & Craig Hunt
Masters Doubles Runners-up: David Bourke & Nick Cole
Veterans Doubles Winner: Yann Albert & Michael Heath
Veterans Doubles Runners-up: Neil Birks & Carl Copas
Consolation Group A Winner: Owan Ratsoongnoen
Consolation Group B Winner: Matus Rajnoha
Consolation Group C Winner: Jo Rinaldi

info: Tennis Sydney holds Sunday social tennis every week at the Parklands Tennis Centre, Moore Park, between 1pm-5pm. Visit

© Star Observer 2021 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.