Voting is now open to decide the winners of the inaugural GLORIAs.

The GLORIAs are a new, fun event that shines a light on outrageous, ridiculous and ignorant comments made about our GLBTI citizens every day.

Event organiser NSW Labor MLC Penny Sharpe said the number of nominations was pleasing.

“I am thrilled with the response. We have received 40 nominations from around the world. I encourage everyone to go to the website and vote for the comments that you believe deserve to win a GLORIA in 2010.”

Forty nominations in seven categories (law, media, online/miscellaneous, politics, religion, sport and the silliest comment from within the GLBTI community) have been received.

Those nominated include:
• Bill Heffernan, Tony Abbott and Kevin Rudd, Kyle Sandilands and Eddie Maguire.
• NSW MPs nominated are Fred Nile, David Clarke and Greg Donnelly.
• MPs have also been nominated from the US, UK, Uganda, South Australia and Queensland.
• A former NATO commander, a prince, a cardinal and a variety of ‘pro’-family groups

The winners in each category will be decided an online voting process.

Voting continues right up until the awards night on Monday 17 May (the International Day Against Homophobia). Author and journalist David Marr will announce the winners in each category at the awards dinner at NSW Parliament House.

There will be a penultimate prize, the Golden GLORIA, for the worst comment of the year.

The Golden GLORIA will be decided by those attending the dinner via a ‘boo-off’.

“Tickets are selling fast for the awards night. If you are planning on coming along, book your ticket now,” Sharpe said.

For more information or to cast your vote, visit

© Star Observer 2022 | For the latest in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and intersex (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, be sure to visit daily. You can also read our latest magazines or Join us on our Facebook page and Twitter feed.